Make your own free website on

Anaheim Angels--Gene Autry Corner.

Angels Baseball-Gene Autry Years.

Home | Site Map | Webrings.

1966 thru 1997: California Angels owned by Gene Autry.
Gene Autry purchased an Expansion Team in 1961, and named them after The popular PCL Franchise, The Los Angeles Angels. Autry purchased the right to name his team after The PCL Angels from Walter O'Malley, the owner of the PCL franchise and The Dodgers. At first, The Cowboy's new team played at Wrigley Field, where the well loved PCL Angels played. By that time, The Brooklyn Dodgers had settled into their new home in Los Angeles, and took the hearts of Baseball Fans in the City of Angels. In 1966, Gene Autry decided to move away from Los Angeles. His first choice was moving team to the City of Long Beach, but he did not want to call his team the Long Beach Angels, so the City of Long Beach backed down. The City of Anaheim told The Cowboy that he could call his team anything he wants if his team played in their city. A deal was struck, and Anaheim Stadium was built. So began the saga of "Angels in The OC."
  • 1979 Division Champions--California Angels.
  • 1982 Division Champions--California Angels.
  • 1986 Division Champions--California Angels.

STAR PLAYERS SIGNED UNDER THE COWBOY: Jim Fergosi, Nolan Ryan, Rod Carew, Reggie Jackson, Fred Lynn, Brian Downing, Frank Robinson, Don Baylor, Dan Ford, Wally Joyner, Tim Salmon, Chili Davis, Chuck Finlay, Bobby Grich, Jim Abbott, Mike Witt, Don Sutton, Lance Parrish, Dave Winfield, Gary DiSarcina, Jim Edmonds, Garrett Anderson, Darin Erstad, and Eddie Murray.


Curse of Moreno's Mistake Home Page.

Mr. Autry brought the Major League Baseball's American League to the American West Coast.